MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In


Mohawk District Volunteers Honored

Congratulations to Tim Williams, Bob Colley and Chris Gersey, winners of the prestigious District Award of Merit during the annual Mohawk District Recognition Dinner March 12 at the Scotia United Methodist Church.

The successful dinner, chaired by Bob Colley, attracted a crowd of more than 130. Chef Walt Pfuntner, a recent Silver Beaver recipient. prepared a chicken dinner for everyone to enjoy, and Scouts from Naxa Nimat Chapter, Order of the Arrow, helped serve and clear tables. We were also honored to have Steven Dunn deliver the Field Executive's Minute.

Williams, who has a longtime association with Troop 3056 in Burnt Hills, has served as a commissioner, been an active member of the District Committee staff and  recently assumed the job of District Training Chairman. Gersey's involvement has been in the Clifton Park area, most recently serving as Committee Chairman for Pack 4045 and on the District Committee.

Colley, who lives in Glenville, is a past District Chairman and hard-working District Committee member who heads up the annual District Camporees. And he works that around his duties on the Twin Rivers Council Executive Board and job as the Council Popcorn Kernel.

A new award was presented, the Clifford R. Semerad Memorial Award for lifetime achievement, in honor of the former TRC Commissioner and Board members and former Schenectady County Council President who died last fall. The recipients were Bernie Shaw of Troop 3023 and Don Guernsey of Troop 5051. Included in their long Scouting resumes is that they currently co-chair the District Advancement Committee.

Another highlight of the evening was District Chairman's Awards, presented by Stephen Miller. They went to Barry Pardee, who recently completed his term as District Commissioner and has been heavily involved in most District events, and Tom Blackmon, a former Senior District Director and Field Director who at the same time has remained active as a volunteer through units, the district and Order of the Arrow.

Other District-level awards included:

Cubmaster of the Year: Greg Szczesny of Pack 4042 and Mark Buelow of Pack 5051.

Scoutmaster of the Year: David Kline of Troop 5048 and Todd Payne of Troop 5055.

Cub Scout Program Award: Tina Lynch of Pack 4044.

Boy Scout Program Award: Bruce Lawrence of Troop 5104.

OA Advisor of the Year: Scott Kilbourn.

Order of the Arrow Youth Award: Maxwell Schaefer.

District Commissioner's Award: Greg Szczesny.

Flint and Steel

Inaugurated a year ago, the Flint and Steel, recognizes registered or unregistered volunteers from each of the district's nearly 90 units who has demonstrated high energy, enthusiasm and passion within the Pack, Troop Crew or Post.

Cub Recipients: Peter Frisoni, Pack 3002; Steven Matthews, Pack 3007; Ted Sargent, Pack 3020; Adriana Laser, Pack 3031; Joe Gotwals, Pack 3034; Jason Moreau, Pack 3054; Kelly Shaw, Pack 3062; Doug and Megan Rose, Pack 3070; Ed Lessard, Pack 3081; Tina Castillo, Pack 4042; JB Murdico, Pack 4043; Brian D'Allard, Pack 4044; Paul Shaw, Pack 4045; Kassandra Redmond, Pack 5004; Audrey Hyatt, Pack 5014; Shauna Pettit, Pack 5051; Jayne Relyea, Pack 5053; Jody DeMarco, Pack 5055; and Michael Burns, Pack 5061.

Scout Recipients: Donald Robar Jr., Trooop 3015; Sharon Bova, Troop 3023; Nicole Helstowski, Troop 3034; Jacob Tysz, Troop 3036; Jason Moreau, Troop 3054; Tim Williams, Troop 3056; David Hansen, Troop 3065; Brian Cooper, Troop 3083; Agnes Maciorowski, Troop 3357; Rhonda Gironda, Troop 4042; Rich Royer, Troop 3054; Mark King, Troop 5007; Barbara Kline, Troop 5048;  Kristin Meashaw, Troop 5051; Thomas Armstrong, Troop 5053; Sandy Graham, Troop 5055' Shawn and Tina Kilmartin, Troop 5081; and Mike Mathews, Troop 5104.

Venturing Recipients: Naomi Wilson, Crew 3918.

A special thank you to units who submitted nominees, and we invite everyone to participate next year.

Copyright © 2010 Twin Rivers Council, BSA - All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®